Jacob M Appel

United States


Photo Credit

Jacob M. Appel’s first novel, The Man Who Wouldn’t Stand Up, won the 2012 Dundee International Book Award and was published by Cargo.  His short story collection, Scouting for the Reaper, won the 2012 Hudson Prize and was published by Black Lawrence Press in 2014.  His most recent books include a novel, The Biology of Luck (Elephant Rock, 2013), an essay collection, Phoning Home (University of South Carolina Press, 2014) and a short story collection, Einstein’s Beach House (Pressgang/Butler University, 2014).  Jacob’s short fiction has appeared in more than two hundred literary journals including AgniColorado ReviewGettysburg ReviewMichigan Quarterly ReviewPrairie SchoonerSouthwest Review, Threepenny Review, Virginia Quarterly Review and West Branch.  His prose has won the Boston Review Short Fiction Competition, the William Faulkner-William Wisdom Award for the Short Story, the Dana Award, the Arts & Letters Prize for Fiction, the North American Review’s Kurt Vonnegut Prize, the Missouri Review’s Editor’s Prize, the Sycamore Review’s Wabash Prize, the Briar Cliff Review’s Short Fiction Prize, the Salem College Center for Women Writers’ Reynolds Price Short Fiction Award, the H. E. Francis Prize, the New Millennium Writings Fiction Award on four occasions, an Elizabeth George Fellowship and a Sherwood Anderson Foundation Writers Grant.   His stories have been short-listed for the O. Henry Award (2001), Best American Short Stories (2007, 2008, 2013), Best American Nonrequired Reading (2007, 2008), and the Pushcart Prize anthology (2005, 2006, 2011, 2014).  Jacob’s stage plays have been performed at New York’s Theatre Row, Manhattan Repertory Theatre, Adrienne Theatre (Philadelphia), Detroit Repertory Theatre, Heller Theater (Tulsa), Curtain Players (Columbus), Epilogue Players (Indianapolis), Open State Theatre (Pittsburgh), Intentional Theatre (New London), Little Theatre of Alexandria and elsewhere.

Jacob has taught most recently at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, at the Gotham Writers’ Workshop in New York City, and at Yeshiva College, where he was the writer-in-residence.  He was honored with Brown’s Undergraduate Council of Students Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2003.   He formerly held academic appointments at Pace University, Hunter College, William Paterson University, Manhattan College, Columbia University and New York University.  Jacob holds a B.A. and an M.A. from Brown, an M.S. in bioethics from Albany Medical College, an M.A. and an M.Phil. from Columbia, an M.D. from Columbia University's College of Physicians and Surgeons, an M.F.A. from N.Y.U. and a J.D. from Harvard Law School.  He also publishes in the field of bioethics and contributes regularly to such publications as the Journal of Clinical Ethics, the Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, the Hastings Center Report and the Bulletin of the History of Medicine.  His essays have appeared in The New York TimesThe Chicago TribuneDetroit Free PressOrlando SentinelThe Providence Journal and many regional newspapers.


1.  The Man Who Wouldn’t Stand Up (novel), Cargo Publishing (United Kingdom)

        Publication Date:  October 2012.

2.  Wedding Wipeout (mystery).  Cozy Cat Press.

        Publication Date:  August 2013.

3.   The Biology of Luck (novel), Elephant Rock Press.

        Publication Date:  October 2013.

4.  Scouting for the Reaper (stories), Black Lawrence Press.

         Publication Date:  February 2014.

5.  Phoning Home (essays).  University of South Carolina Press. 

        Publication Date:  June 2014.

6.  Einstein’s Beach House (stories).  Pressgang / Butler University.

        Publication Date:  October 2014.

7.   Miracles and Conundrums of the Secondary Planets (stories).  Black Lawrence Press.

        Publication Date:  June 2015.

8.  The Magic Laundry (stories). Snake Nation Press

        Publication Date:  July 2015.

9.    Coulrophobia & Fata Morgana (stories), Black Lawrence Press.

         Publication Date:  September 2016.

10.  The Topless Widow of Herkimer Street (stories), Howling Bird Press (Augsburg University).

        Publication Date:  November 2016.

11.   Mask of Sanity (novel), Permanent Press.

        Publication Date:  April 2017.


PEN America RSS feedFind PEN America on LinkedInFind PEN America on YouTubeFind PEN America on FacebookFind PEN America on Twitter